

Faculty Senate

September 4, 2024, 3:20 – 4:50 pm

Tivoli 320/Microsoft Teams

Minutes

(To be approved 9/18/2024)

Attendees: Aguilar, Allen, Ansburg, Bagwell, Baker, Balogh, Bao, Beer, Bellisario, Bissell, Boneh, Botyarov, Boyd, Busila, Carnes, Castle, Chapman Vigil, Clark, Denn, Dhoot, Duclos, Erven, Fayman, Fiscor, Fontenot, Friedland, Gillespie, Griffin, Halley, Hammar, Harder, Harris, He, Helldoerfer, Hernandez-Julian, AHill, Hirsch Ignizio, Jeong, Jordan, Kelley, Kendall, Kesselring, Klein, Kolts, Komodore, Kress, Kuhn, Lambert, Lane, Li, Little, Luiz, Lunsford, Ma, Maher, Martyn, Masters, McKenna, Meloche, Merriam, Miller, Montero, Musimbi, Ng, Nunez, Obermann, Olsen, Ortiz, Pace Mitchell, Pak, Peshut, Pittman, Prestridge, Prundeanu-Thrower, Quijada, Reddington, Reilly, Rhodes, Riaz, Ropp, Rudnick, Rummell Mancuso, Schatz, Schmidt, Schuenemann, Sgoutas, Shafieizadeh, Shapland, Singh, Srinivasan, Starostyuk, Stock, Sundbye, Suter, Swisher, Thareja, Trentin, Trombley, Valipour, Varela, Walsh-Aziz, Wilkerson, Wycoff, Xu, Yee, Yoncha, You, Zhao.

I. Welcome

The meeting was called to order at 3:20 pm

II. Guests

Laura Niesen de Abruña, Provost/Executive VP for Faculty Affairs Laura

Janine Davidson, President

Larry Sampler, COO

III. Announcements Liz Goodnick

- Teaching Excellence Award Winners
 - o Lisa Suter, English Tenured Award Winner
 - o Xiaohui You, Health Professions Tenured Award Winner
 - o Kiyan Shafieizadeh, School of Hospitality Tenure Track Winner
 - o Taryn Wood, School of Education CAT II Winner
 - o Jess Schulman, Computer Science Affiliate Winner
- MSU Denver Community Collab Summit
- ESSJ Workshops for Fall 2024
- Provost Level Policies
- Senator's Expectations and Responsibilities

- IV. Quorum Vote
- V. Approval of Minutes The minutes of 4-17-2024 were reviewed by the Senate and approved with 93% approval.
- VI. Curriculum Manuel Changes Kim Klimek, Chair of the Curriculum Committee General Studies Changes: Second Read & Vote Motion: To approve the General Studies Changes Motioned by: Senator Balogh, Second, Senator Jordan Decision Passed: 68 yes, 4 no, 4 abstentions

Honors/Colleges/Schools Course Proposal Changes: Second Read & Vote Motion: To approve the Honors/Colleges/Schools Course Proposal Changes Motioned by: Senator Balogh, Second, Senator Obermann Decision Passed: 76 yes, 1 no, 2 abstentions

Program Establishment Changes: Second Read & Vote Motion: To approve the Program Establishment Changes

Motioned by: Senator Balogh, Second, Senator Jordan Decision Passed: 76 yes, 3 no, 1 abstention

 VII. Faculty Senate Committee Bylaws Reorganization: President Goodnick Diversity Committee Bylaws: Second Read & Vote Motion: To Approve Diversity Committee Bylaw Changes Motioned by: Senator Klimek Second, Senator Suter Decision Passed: 69 yes, 5 no, 1 abstention

Budget Committee Bylaws Second Read & Vote Motion: To Approve Budget Committee Bylaw Changes Motioned by: Senator Balogh Second, Senator Klimek Decision Passed: 69 yes, 1 no, 1 abstention

FEAC Bylaws: Second Read & Vote Motion: To Approve FEAC Bylaws Motioned by: Senator Conroy Second, Senator Balogh Decision Passed: 70 yes, 3 no, 3 abstentions

VIII. APC Changes - Jenny Allert, Chair of APC
Pre-Major Nomenclature: Second Read & Vote
Motion: To approve the Pre-Major Nomenclature

Motioned by: Senator Obermann, Second, Senator Maldonado Decision Passed: 69 yes, 4 no, 1 abstention

- IX. Senator Action Items 2023-2024: President Goodnick
- X. Motion to Adjourn 2023-2024 Faculty Senate

Faculty Senate 2024-2025

Attendees: Aguilar, Allen, Ansburg, Baker, Balogh, Beer, Benabe, Boneh, Boyd, Brunel, Busila, Carnes, Castle, Cheng, Clark, Denn, Dhoot, Dickerson, Fayman, Feldman, Friedland, Gillespie, Grevstad, Halley, Heiss, Helldoerfer, Hernández-Julián, AHill, KHill, Hirsch, Jeong, Jordan, Kelley, BKendall, Kesselring, Kolts, Komodore, Kress, Kuhn, Lambert, Lane, Little, Luiz, Lunsford, Ma, Maher, Mancuso, McKenna, Meloche, Merriam, Merrill Schmidt, Montero, Moore, Ng, Nunez, Obermann, Olsen, Ortiz, Pittman, Prundeanu-Thrower, Quijada, Reddington, Rhodes, Riaz, Ropp, Rudnick, Schatz, Schmidt, Shafieizadeh, Shapland, Singh, Srinivasan, Starostyuk, Stock, Swisher, Valipour, Varela, Walsh-Aziz, Wilkerson, Wycoff, Yoncha, You, Zhao.

I. Convene 2024-2025 Faculty Senate – Welcome, Voting Instructions & Speaking on the Senate Floor – Shahar Boneh

II. Quorum Vote

III. Faculty Senate Officer Elections

- President Liz Goodnick elected by acclamation
- Vice President Michele Clark elected by acclamation
- Secretary Bill Carnes elected by acclamation

IV. Standing Committees At-Large Election

- APC 2 At-Large Vacancies
 - i. Nomination Jade Luiz
- Curriculum Committee 1 At-Large Vacancy
- General Studies Committee 1 At-Large Vacancy
- Professional Leave Committee 1 At-Large Vacancy
 - i. Nomination Mallory Brunel
- Student Affairs Committee 1 At-Large Vacancy
 - i. Nomination Lee Helldoerfer
 - ii. Smita Singh

V. Committee Vacancies – Academic Subdivisions (Caucus Seats)

- VI. Senator Action Items: President Goodnick
- VII. Standing Motion to Adjourn