Skip to main content Skip to main content

Outstanding Women's Awards

The Outstanding Women’s Awards (OWA) is a long-standing tradition created by MSU Denver’s Institute for Women’s Studies and Services (IWSS) that celebrates women at the university who have enhanced our campus community with their outstanding contributions. Every year at the annual Outstanding Women’s Awards Reception, one exemplary person in each category (Student, Alumnae, Faculty, Classified Staff and Administrator) is honored by a selection committee comprised of the award winners from the previous year. We encourage the nomination of individuals that are female-identified who makes a significant contribution to our campus community, including individuals who identify as trans* and gender queer. The Institute for Women's Studies and Services does not participate in the selection process; winners are selected solely by a committee comprised of the previous year’s award winners.

The Outstanding Women’s Awards Reception is a fundraiser for the Pamela McIntyre-Marcum Memorial Scholarship fund that was established in honor of McIntyre-Marcum, a marketing professor at MSU Denver who was murdered by her estranged husband in a parking lot on the Auraria Campus in January of 1987. Colleagues, students, and the Institute for Women's Studies and Services established this scholarship fund in her honor. We do this event as a tribute to Pamela McIntyre-Marcum and for all of the families and friends affected by interpersonal violence. 

Congratulations to the 2017 winners!

Renee Fajardo • Administrator Award

Ally Garcia • Administrator Award

Brydie Harris • Alumnae Award

Liz Gettings • Classified Award

Carol Quinn • Faculty Award

Valeria Herrera • Friend of the Institute Award

Sandy Hosey • Student Award

Scholarship Recipeints

Activist Scholarship • Alexa Bailon 

Nueva Esperanza Scholarship • Nayeli Nunez

Bobbi Capps Emerging Leadership Award • Dania El-Batal

Women's Studies Scholarship • Alexandra Perez, Carole Bergeman, & Katelyn Lauer

Pamela McIntyre-Marcum Memorial Scholarship • Julia Blackmon, Deborah Chelin, Emily Lutts, & Lillian Perez


Did you know that IWSS has multiple scholarships to award to students each academic year? These students are given the opportunity to be recognized at the Outstanding Women's Awards. Check out our IWSS scholarship section to see whether you qualify. This year's applications are open! For more information, click below.

Applications for 2017 have closed. Please check back in early 2018 for next year's applications.

Award Nomination

Nominations are open! Come recognize the accomplishments of some of our outstanding students, alums, faculty members, staff members, or friends of the Institute that have been integral in espousing the goals of IWSS. We encourage you to nominate anyone that you feel deserves recognition for their leadership roles, academic excellence, volunteer work, activism, or prominence in particular field.

Nominations are closed. Please check back in early 2018 for next year's nominations.

Edit this page