Skip to main content Skip to main content

Registration & Waitlist

Refer below to Registration Overrides for step-by-step instructions on how to override a course restriction/department hold to allow a student to register.

Also, refer to our FAQ's for the registration and waitlist process. If you have any questions that were not answered within the information provided, please contact our Records & Registration team, regquery@msudenver.edu


A. We currently allow students to self-add via their Student Hub until census. As you know, this is around two weeks into the course and does not prepare students or Faculty to be successful. This change facilitates a thoughtful conversation between the student and Faculty member to determine if the student will be successful in their course.

A. This change is effective for Spring 2019. This decision was proposed by Faculty and is being implemented by the Office of the Registrar.

A. Students can enroll via their Student Hub through the self-add deadline, which is calculated as 6% of the course duration, as long as they meet the prerequisites and other registration requirements. The self-add deadline is calculated relative to each part of term, and for full-term fall and spring courses it will be the 6th day of the course (January 28, 2019, at 11:59 p.m.). Please refer to Part of Term Chart for dates for all parts of term.

A. If students are given permission to enroll beyond the self-add deadline prior to census (50% drop refund deadline) individuals designated in each department will update SFASRPO in Banner to allow the student to self-enroll. The Office of the Registrar will mass apply “DP” (Department Approval) requirements on all courses after the self-enroll deadline has passed.

A. From the time self-add closes until census day (50% drop refund deadline), students will have to obtain
department permission to enroll. If approved, the department will utilize the current process for Department
Approval to provide permission in Banner in SFASRPO so that the student can enroll themselves via the hub.

A. Students will only be able to add themselves until the self add-deadline. For specific deadlines, please refer to
the Academic Calendar.

A. At 11:59 p.m. on the self-add deadline, the remaining students on the waitlist will be purged (meaning they
will no longer appear on the waitlist on the student and faculty view).

A. The waitlist must be purged on this date in order to be able to allow students to waitlist for later parts of term.
We want to be consistent and have the ability to offer the waitlist option to all parts of term.

A. No, this process will remain the same and will continue to be managed by the Dean’s Offices.

Edit this page