Skip to main content Skip to main content

Press Release

2010 Outstanding Metro State Alumni Named

Contact: Tim Carroll, Office 303-556-5136, Cell 303-870-7705

Posted: April 16, 2010

(Denver, Colo.) — The Metropolitan State College of Denver Alumni Association announces its 2010 Outstanding Alumni Awards recipients. Each year the office recognizes alumni who embody the association’s core principles and who serve as exemplary citizens in the communities where they live and work.  

The recipients will be honored at a special ceremony, “Blueprint for Success: 2010 Alumni Recognition Evening” on April 21, 5:30 - 7 p.m. at St. Cajetan’s Center at 9th Street and Lawrence in Denver. Tickets are $10 per person, include dinner and drinks. Purchase tickets by April 19 at

The Awards Selection Committee received a record number of nominations this year, Stefanie Carroll, assistant director of Alumni Programs and Communication said.  “We had many deserving alumni nominated and the committee members told me they all had a difficult time choosing the winners.”

This year’s honorees are:
Gregory Aarons (’90, psychology) Work Ethic Award for his work on mental health issues and service on several mental health committees.

Edward Jacobs, Jr. (’96, computer information systems) Distinguished Alumnus Award for fundraising efforts, supporting athletic programs and sharing his high-tech expertise with the College. 

Piper Billups (’99, marketing) Making a Difference Award for founding the Spread Her Wings Foundation to help girls develop independence and make a positive impact on others in their community.

Lorne Donaldson ('86, physical education) Making a Difference Award for his commitment to empowering young soccer players and teaching them life skills on and off the field.

Shannon Webber (’04, political science) Distinguished Alumnus Award for her outreach and volunteer work through several area nonprofits and public schools.

Danyette Hardin (’07, management) Metro State Pride Award for her work with Students in Free Enterprise and for founding and serving as the first president of the Metro State Alumni Business Networking Club.

Meghan Stinton (’07, journalism) Giving Back Award for her extensive volunteering and for serving as one of the first liaisons for the student chapter of the Public Relations Society of America to help her fellow students network with professionals.

Andrew Bateman (’10, theatre and psychology) Future Alumnus Award for his work as student government president, including organizing a student march to the state capitol to rally support for higher education funding.

The Auraria Health Center will be receiving special recognition as a campus office/department with outstanding alumni employees: Bill Mavromatis ('79, history), Debbie Shuman ('05, human performance and sport), Garr Rice ('09, nursing), Steffana Nohavickova ('06, IDP), Gia Valente ('08, history), Linda Wilkins-Pierce ('91, human services), Nathan Neilson ('07, accounting) and Martha Eaton ('94, psychology).



About Metropolitan State College of Denver

With more than 23,000 students, Metro State is Colorado’s leader in educating undergraduate Coloradans, and is one of the largest four-year public colleges in the nation. The College enrolls the highest number of students of color among four-year colleges in the state. It boasts 66,000 alumni, with the bulk of them remaining in Colorado after graduation.