Skip to main content Skip to main content

Serving up excellence

MSU Denver’s Department of Hospitality, Tourism and Events named one of the AASCU Excellence and Innovation Award recipients.

September 20, 2016

The American Association of State Colleges and Universities announced this year’s Excellence and Innovation Award winners. This awards program, now in its third year, honors member institutions for excellence and innovation in several major areas of campus life and leadership.

The award categories include: leadership in regional and economic development; student success and college completion; sustainability and sustainable development; teacher education; international education; and leadership development and diversity.

MSU Denver’s Department of Hospitality, Tourism and Events will receive the Regional & Economic Development Award on Oct. 30 at the opening session of AASCU’s Annual Meeting in Miami, Florida.

Hospitality and tourism are the number one economic drivers of the Colorado economy. Since 1972, the HTE Department has educated increasing numbers of students, producing a much-needed workforce. MSU Denver is the only baccalaureate degree program in the region offering concentrations of study in the traditional hospitality segments of hotel and restaurant management and in the related industries of event and tourism management.

In 2008, the institution began a unique collaboration with Marriott International and Sage Hospitality by building the combined SpringHill Suites Denver Downtown Hotel and Hospitality Learning Center, one of only 11 such facilities in the nation. The HLC is distinctive in its staff design, as it matches enthusiastic hospitality students with full‐time professionals who serve as mentors while providing a unique revenue‐generating venture for the University.

“Innovation at America’s state colleges and universities is focused on advancing the quality of the educational experience for their students and the distinction of their institutions in service to their communities,” said AASCU President Muriel A Howard. “The programs for which these universities are being honored will inspire not only their AASCU colleagues, but all of higher education.”

Edit this page