Skip to main content Skip to main content

Scholarships and Awards

The department offers the following scholarships for Journalism students:

  • Greg Pearson Endowed Memorial Journalism Scholarship
  • Greg Lopez Memorial Endowed Scholarship
  • Christopher Lee Anderson Memorial Endowed Scholarship
  • Gene Amole Memorial Endowed Scholarship
  • Larry Strutton Endowed Scholarship

The department offers the following scholarships for Technical Communication students:

  • Phil Lucero Memorial Scholarship (Not yet endowed)

The department offers the following award:

  • Outstanding Journalism and Technical Communication Student Award

NATPE Student Internship
NATPE (National Association of Television Program Executives) provides internships for the national conference in Miami.  The conference, which usually occurs in the middle of January, is the leading venue for content providers, program directors and experts in video technology and media convergence.  It attracts an international audience who have expertise in network TV, cable, internet, mobile and new media programs.  Students from colleges and universities throughout the U.S. apply for this internship.  If selected, the internship requires students to serve as hosts, provide information to attendees and assist the conference planners in other ways.  In return, students receive free admission to seminars and workshops.  NATPE also provides students with lodging and meals during their stay for the conference.  The only cost to students is transportation to and from Miami.  Students may apply for internships by contacting Prof. Amend


Edit this page