Skip to main content Skip to main content

Student Clubs

Student Public Speaking at Bridge Bash
The Human Services Education Organization (HSEO) is open to all Human Services students.  

Dr. Brian Bagwell is the faculty advisor. The current officers are: 

President – Jamie Ray
V. P. – Madison Magor
Treasurer – Darcy Widener
Secretary – Lisa Marie Gulbenkian-Fertman

The purpose of the organization is: 

  • to stimulate and encourage active student participation in matters affecting the education and general welfare of students and faculty within the Human Services Department

  • to provide a network for cooperation and communication among students, faculty, alumni, and individuals working in the field of Human Services

  • to serve all  students in their career development and placement by providing a forum for exchange of information

  • to promote volunteer work among students as a link to the community and as an educational experience

  • to promote and maintain the highest standards of ethics, integrity, honor, and conduct in the profession

Their membership application can be downloaded here: HSEO Membership Application‌‌

You can find more information about HSEO on their Facebook page:


Tau Upsilon Alpha Honor Society is the honor society for the field of Human Services. The society was originally named the Alpha Delta Omega society, but transitioned in 2008 to Tau Upsilon Alpha. MSU Denver hosts the Iota chapter, which was founded in 1991 under the original name. The members represent excellence both in academics and commitment to the field. Dr. Tara Hammar is the faculty advisor.  The current TUA officers are Emily Doane, Jamie Ray, and Stephanie Matthews,


  • junior or senior status
  • minimum overall grade point average of 3.25 and 3.25 in Human Services courses 

The application process occurs in the Fall of each year. Application materials will be available through the Department each Fall. Students must submit:

  1. an essay demonstrating excellence in Human Services and a commitment to work in the field
  2. two references, including one from a Human Services faculty member
  3. a current CAPP report
  4. a one-time initiation fee of $50

The Current HSP TUA Officers are:

Emily Doane- President
Jamie Ray- Vice President 
Stephanie Matthews- Secretary



Edit this page