Skip to main content Skip to main content

U.S. Professor of the Year

Metropolitan State University of Denver 2014 U. S. Professor of the Year Nominees

Virginia McCarver, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Department of Communication Arts & Sciences


Aaron Brown

Assistant Professor 

Program Coordinator

Department of Mechanical Engineering Technology

 Please note:

The U.S. Professors of the Year Awards Program will go on hiatus, beginning in January 2016, as part of a year-long strategic planning process that the Council for Advancement and Support of Education launched in July 2015. Therefore, there will not be a call for nominations in January.


Each year, MSU Denver nominates three faculty members for the U.S. Professor of the Year competition. This national competition is co-sponsored by the Council for Advancement and Support of Education (CASE) and the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching. The internal process for selecting MSU Denver nominees is a competitive one designed to identify the strongest possible nominees from the institution. If you are interested in putting yourself or a colleague forward for the internal selection process, please read carefully the information on this page.

Internal selection of nominees will be made using the same judging criteria as used by the national U.S. Professor of the Year Award program. Those criteria are (of equal weight):

  • Impact on and involvement with undergraduate students
  • Scholarly approach to teaching and learning
  • Contributions to undergraduate education in the institution, community and profession
  • Support from colleagues and current and former undergraduate students

The internal deadline to be considered for selection as one of the three MSU Denver nominees is one month before the actual deadline to allow time for submission.

Any MSU Denver faculty member, full-time or affiliate, who has taught or will teach one class at the undergraduate level during the 2014/15 academic year, is eligible for consideration. Self-nominations for the internal selection process are welcome.

Additional POY Information

It is expected that the three faculty members who are selected to be MSU Denver nominees will work with the Center for Faculty Excellence to complete the full U.S. Professor of the Year nomination packet for submission before the deadline. The U.S. Professor of the Year website features examples of nomination materials from past award winners.

Previous MSU Denver nominees:

2013 Ann Williams (Modern Languages)

2012: Lynann “Annie” Butler (Human Services), Elizabeth McVicker (Management), and Kathryn Young (Teacher Ed)

2011: Maurice Hamington (Women’s Studies), Cynthia Heiss (Health Professions), and Alex Padilla (Economics)

Please contact the Center for Faculty Excellence with questions.

Edit this page