Skip to main content Skip to main content

Visiting Artist, Scholar & Designer Program

The Visiting Artist, Scholar & Designer Program fosters participation and collaboration with both the institution and the Metro community. An integral part of MSU Denver's mission, the Visiting Artist, Designer & Scholar Program is an invaluable resource for students, faculty, and the community.

The Program is an interdisciplinary and culturally inclusive initiative, bringing nationally and internationally renowned artists, designers, and scholars to engage with the Department of Art. All lectures are free and open to the public and take place at the Center for Visual Art.

Information on the Visiting Artist, Scholar & Designer program can be accessed on Facebook & Tumblr

For additional information please contact Dr. Jessica Weiss at


2018-2019 Visiting Artists, Scholars & Designers


Damián Sainz


Damián Sainz graduated from the University of Arts, Havana, Cuba with a degree in media arts and from the EICTV (International Film and Television School of San Antonio de los Baños) with a degree in documentary direction. Sainz also studied at the Mel Oppenheim Film School in Montreal, Canada and at the Cinema Department at HEAD Genève, Switzerland. Sainz has worked as director, editor and producer in documentary films in Cuba, Canada, Switzerland and Spain and has collaborated with visual arts projects like Galeria Continua, Inventario at the Ludwig Foundation and online project Docuselfie. His short documentary films, focused on LGBTQ culture in the island and Cuban youth, have been selected and awarded in several international film festivals like Havana Film Festival, Fribourg in Switzerland, FICUNAM in Mexico, DocumentaMadrid in Spain and FICU in Uruguay. (bio credit)


Joo Yeon Woo 

Wednesday, September 12, 2018 5:30pm

As a culturally displaced artist, Joo Yeon Woo has been drawn to the theme of cultural displacement and identity, and to social psychological and cross-cultural studies that are heavily influenced by immigrant experiences. Her artworks mostly consist of drawing, painting and photography, and more specifically in the fusing of these media, such as acrylic painting on a digital pigment print, video from a still image, or photography from a paper collage.

Joo Yeon Woo has exhibited nationally and internationally, including Sejong Museum of Art in Seoul, Korea; The Vargas Museum at the University of the Philippines; Asia Contemporary Art Show in Hong Kong and Art Gwangju in Korea. She has participated in several international artist-in-residence programs including VCCA, Red Gate Residency in Beijing and Contemporary Yunnan in Kunming, China. She also received the Korean National Art Festival Award at National Museum of Contemporary Art and was selected for the Korea Young Artists Biennale. She received her MFA from the Pennsylvania State University and an earlier MFA from Hongik University in Korea and BFA from Kyungpook National University in Korea. (bio credit)


Past Visiting Artists, Scholars & Designers


Kate Thomas; The Yes Men


Golnar AdiliRachel HarperApril Jehan Morris; Sixto-Juan Zavala


Joanne Pillsbury; Deb SokolowLadies of the Press


Julie Poitras Santos; Ian Boyden; Mwangi Hutter; Abayomi Ola.


Sean Caulfield; Alberto Aguilar; Sanam Emami; Leah Buechley.


Beryl Korot; Gary Setzer; Helen Shirk.


Jorge Lucero; Michael Jones-McKean; Deborah Aschheim.


Heather Mae Erickson; Harry Gamoba Jr.; Dr. Mark Van Stone; Chelsea Knight.


Thomas Dutton; Jean Dibble; Krysten Cunningham.


Will Wilson; Dara Greenwald; Karla Hackenmiller.


John Valadez; Brent Green; Sergei Isupov; Ben Fry.


Joanna Frueh; Tip Toland.


Mia Mulvey-Fetterman; Marvin Sweet; Alfred Quiroz.


Sarah Jaeger; Richard Notkin.