Skip to main content

Spring 2015 Music Events

TICKETS: For ticket information please contact the King Center Box Office at 303-556-2296. All Music events are free to the MSU Denver Community with valid ID.

PARKING: Free parking is available for all Music events in tha 7th Street Garage with your ticket stub, program, or voucher.

MORE INFORMATION: For more information please contact the Department of Music at 303-556-3180.

NOTE: All events are subject to change.

January | February | March | April | May


January

Saturday, January 10
Audition Day
8am - 5pm, King Center
For Information, call 303-556-3180

Wednesday, January 21
Music Student Convocation
King Center Concert Hall
2:00 pm

Monday, January 26
Mondays at MSU Denver
Faculty Recital
King Center Concert Hall
2:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Monday, January 26
Visiting Artist Series: Lamont Saxophone Quartet
featuring Art Bouton, Mark Harris, Sean Campbell, Sean Edwards
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $10, $8, $5

Wednesday, January 28
Visiting Artist Masterclass: University of New Mexico Faculty Brass Ensemble
King Center Recital Hall
2:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

January 28-31
CMEA Convention
MSU Denver Symphony Orchestra
Broadmoor Hotel, Colorado Springs

Friday, January 30
Junior Recital: Anthony Yale, classical guitar
King Center Recital Hall
4:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Saturday, January 31
Visiting Artist Series: Boulder Brass
King Center Concert Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $10, $8, $5

 

Return to top


February


Monday, February 2
Mondays at MSU Denver
Faculty Recital
King Center Concert Hall
2:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Wednesday, February 4
Opera Colorado Young Artists
King Center Recital Hall
1:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Thursday, February 5
All-State Choir Competition
8am - 10pm, King Center
For information, contact MB Krueger (kruegema@msudenver.edu)

Friday, February 6
Junior Recital: Ethan Goss, classical guitar
King Center Recital Hall
4:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Monday, February 9
Mondays at MSU Denver
Faculty Recital
King Center Concert Hall
2:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

February 13-14
Piano Celebration
"Einstein's Light: Relativity for Lovers"
8am - 5pm, King Center
For information and to purchase tickets, visit www.pianocelebration.org

Friday, February 13
Piano Celebration
"Einstein's Light: Illuminating Minds" A film/science/music event
featuring film director Nickolas Barris, composer Bruce Adolphe
King Center Concert Hall
7:00 pm, Tickets $25, $10
For information and to purchase tickets, visit www.pianocelebration.org

Saturday, February 14
Piano Celebration
"Breakfast with Einstein"
A Beautiful Equation Film Screening, 9:30 am
For information and to purchase tickets, visit www.pianocelebration.org

Monday, February 16
Mondays at MSU Denver
The Playground Ensemble
King Center Concert Hall
2:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Wednesday, February 18
Faculty Recital
Nancy Andrew, flute and Friends
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $10, $8, $5

Thursday, February 19
Symphonic Band II and Wind Ensemble
King Center Concert Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $10, $8, $5

Friday, February 20
Junior Recital: Chris Delisa, classical guitar
King Center Recital Hall
4:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Monday, February 23
Mondays at MSU Denver
Student Recital
King Center Concert Hall
2:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Monday, February 23
Visiting Artist Series: Santa Fe Desert Chorale
King Center Concert Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $15, $10

Wednesday, February 25
Visiting Artist Masterclass
Ellery Eskelin, saxophone
Art Lande, piano
King Center Recital Hall
2:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Wednesday, February 25
Visiting Artist Series
Ellery Eskelin, saxophone
Art Lande, piano
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $10, $8, $5

 

Return to top


March

Monday, March 2
Mondays at MSU Denver
Student Recital
King Center Concert Hall
2:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Tuesday, March 3
Symphonic Band I and Concert Band
King Center Concert Hall
7:30 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Wednesday, March 4
Visiting Artist Series: Bao Bao Festival
King Center Concert Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $10, $8, $5

Friday, March 6
Junior Recital: Stuart Fahie, flute
King Center Recital Hall
4:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Friday, March 6
Visiting Artist Series: Laura Husbands, classical guitar
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $10, $8, $5

Saturday, March 7
Un Soir de melodies francaises: Performance of French song
presented by the MSU Denver Vocal Studies area
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $5

Monday, March 9
Mondays at MSU Denver
Student Recital / Jazz Combos
King Center Concert Hall
2:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Monday, March 9
Senior Recital: Julia Sando-Hilton, piano
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Tuesday, March 10
MSU Denver Jazz Combos
Dazzle Jazz, 930 Lincoln St, Denver
6:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Wednesday, March 11
MSU Denver Jazz Orchestras
Mercury Cafe, 2199 California St, Denver
7:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Thursday, March 12
MSU Denver Symphony Orchestra and String Sinfonietta
King Center Concert Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $10, $8, $5

Friday, March 13
Orff Masterclass
Arts Building, Room 293
3:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Friday, March 13
Faculty Recital
Greg Dufford, clarinet and Friends
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $10, $8, $5

Saturday, March 14
Spring Choral Concert
Women's Choir, Men's Choir, and Weekend Chamber Choir
King Center Concert Hall
4:00 pm, Tickets $10, $8, $5

Saturday, March 14
Spring Choral Concert
Denver Pro Chorale, St. Martin's Chamber Choir, and MSU Denver Chorale
King Center Concert Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $10, $8, $5

Monday, March 16
Mondays at MSU Denver
Student Recital
King Center Concert Hall
2:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Monday, March 16
Visiting Artist Workshop: Music Education Through Movement
Emma Shubin, flute and Dalcroze specialist
King Center Music and Dance Studio
2:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Tuesday, March 17
Visiting Artist Series: Boulder Bassoon Quartet
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $10, $8, $5

Thursday, March 19
Visiting Artist Series
Emma Shubin, flute and Faculty Guests
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $10, $8, $5

Monday, March 30
Mondays at MSU Denver
Career Day
King Center Concert Hall
2:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Tuesday, March 31
Visiting Artist Series: "Transformations"
Ann Marie Morgan, viola da gamba
William Simms, theorbo
Joshua Smith, flute
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $15, $10

Return to top


April

Wednesday, April 1
Visiting Artist Masterclass: David Cooper, horn
King Center Recital Hall
2:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Wednesday, April 1
Visiting Artist Series: David Cooper, horn
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $10, $8, $5

Wednesday, April 1
Vocal Jazz Ensemble
Mercury Cafe, 2199 California St
7:30 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Friday, April 3
Junior Recital: Sofia Rivera, piano
King Center Recital Hall
4:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Saturday, April 4
Audition Day
8:00 am - 5:00 pm, King Center
For information, call 303-556-3180

Monday, April 6
Mondays at MSU Denver
Student Recital
King Center Concert Hall
2:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Monday, April 6
Visiting Artist Masterclass: "Classical Jam"
King Center Recital Hall
3:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Monday, April 6
Women's Choir Festival
King Center Concert Hall
7:30 pm, Free and Open to the Public
For information, contact MB Krueger (kruegema@msudenver.edu)

Wednesday, April 8
Faculty Recital
Emily Ondracek-Peterson, violin
Tamara Goldstein, piano
King Center Concert Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $10, $8, $5

Friday, April 10
Junior Recital: Alexis Sandusky, clarinet
King Center Recital Hall
4:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Friday, April 10
Senior Recital: Louis DeScala, trombone
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Saturday, April 11
Junior Recital: Chandrika Prem, cello
King Center Recital Hall
4:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

CANCELED - Saturday, April 11 
Visiting Artist Series: Boulder Brass
King Center Concert Hall

Monday, April 13
Mondays at MSU Denver
Student Recital / Jazz Combos
King Center Concert Hall
2:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Tuesday, April 14
Faculty Recital
Sara Parkinson, piano and Friends
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $10, $8 $5

Wednesday, April 15
Visiting Artist Series: Kansas City Vocal Jazz Ensemble
King Center Concert Hall
7:30 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Thursday, April 16
A Tribute to Gerald Endsley
King Center Concert Hall
4:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Friday, April 17
MSU Denver Opera Theatre Ensemble
"A Night at the Opera" Scenes
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $10, $8, $5

Saturday, April 18
MSU Denver Opera Theatre Ensemble
"A Night at the Opera" Scenes
King Center Recital Hall 
7:30 pm, Tickets $10, $8, $5

Monday, April 20
Mondays at MSU Denver
Student Recital
King Center Concert Hall
2:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Monday, April 20
Chamber Music Ensembles
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $5

Wednesday, April 22
Visiting Artist Masterclass: Alan Ehnes, trumpet
King Center Music and Dance Studio
2:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Wednesday, April 22
Senior Recital: Tania Katz, jazz vocals
Dazzle Jazz, 930 Lincoln St, Denver
7:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Friday, April 24
Junior Recital: Cat Williams, piano
King Center Recital Hall
4:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Friday, April 24
MSU Denver Wind Ensemble
King Center Concert Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $10, $8, $5

Saturday, April 25
Colorado Flute Association K-12 Competition
8:00 am - 5:00 pm, King Center
For information, contact Nancy Andrew (nandrew@msudenver.edu)

Saturday, April 25
Visiting Artist Series: Colorado Composers Concert IX
performed by the Playground Ensemble
King Center Concert Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $10, $8, $5

Monday, April 27
Mondays at MSU Denver
Student Recital
King Center Concert Hall
2:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Monday, April 27
Early Music Ensemble
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $10, $8, $5

Tuesday, April 28
MSU Denver Jazz Combos
Dazzle Jazz, 930 Lincoln St, Denver
6:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Wednesday, April 29
MSU Denver Jazz Orchestras
Mercury Cafe, 2199 California St, Denver
7:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Thursday, April 30
Vocal Jazz Ensemble "Sol Phase"
King Center Concert Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $5

 

Return to top


May

Friday, May 1
Junior Recital: William Heinz and Ava Francisco, saxophone
King Center Recital Hall
4:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Friday, May 1
Senior Recital: Joshua Lundquist, trumpet
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Saturday, May 2
Festival Choir and Symphony Orchestra
King Center Concert Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $10, $8, $5

Sunday, May 3
Festival Choir and Symphony Orchestra
King Center Concert Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $10, $8, $5

Monday, May 4
Mondays at MSU Denver
Student Recital
King Center Concert Hall
2:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Monday, May 4
Symphonic Band I
King Center Recital Hall
3:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Monday, May 4
Percussion Ensemble
King Center Concert Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $5

Tuesday, May 5
Symphonic Band II and Concert Band
King Center Concert Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $5

Wednesday, May 6
Chamber Music Ensembles
King Center Concert Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $5

Thursday, May 7
Guitar Ensembles
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $5

Friday, May 8
Junior Recital: Gina Bauza, soprano
King Center Recital Hall
4:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Friday, May 8
African Drum & Dance Ensemble
King Center Concert Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $5

Saturday, May 9
Faculty Brass Recital
King Center Recital Hall
4:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Return to top


August 2015

Saturday, August 8
Audition Day
8:00 am - 5:00 pm, King Center
For information, call 303-556-3180