Spring 2014 Music Events

TICKETS: For ticket information please contact the King Center Box Office at 303-556-2296. All Music events are free to the MSU Denver Community with valid ID.

PARKING: Free parking is available for all Music events in tha 7th Street Garage with your ticket stub, program, or voucher.

MORE INFORMATION: For more information please contact the Department of Music at 303-556-3180.

NOTE: All events are subject to change.

January | February | March | April | May


January

Saturday, January 11
Audition Day
King Center, 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
For information, call 303-556-3180

Wednesday, January 22
Singing is Serious Business Series
Liam Moran Masterclass
King Center Recital Hall
2:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Wednesday, January 22
Singing is Serious Business Series
Liam Moran Lecture and Concert
King Center Recital Hall
6:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Monday, January 27
Mondays at MSU Denver
Student Convocation
King Center Concert Hall
2:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

 

Return to top


February

Saturday, February 1
Audition Day
King Center, 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
For information, call 303-556-3180

Monday, February 3
Mondays at MSU Denver
Faculty Recital
King Center Concert Hall
2:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

February 5
Visiting Artist Masterclass
Peter Bernstein, jazz guitar
Arts 295
3:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

February 7-8
Piano Celebration
King Center, 8:00 am - 6:00 pm
For information, contact Tamara Goldstein (goldstet@msudenver.edu)

Friday, February 7
Piano Celebration Visiting Artist
Marika Bournaki, piano
King Center Concert Hall
7:00 pm, Tickets $25, $10

Saturday, February 8
"From Russia with Love"
Piano at MSU Denver and Friends
King Center Recital Hall
1:00 pm, Tickets $10, $8, $5

Sunday, February 9
Wind Ensemble Masterclass/Clinic
King Center Concert Hall
7:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Monday, February 10
Mondays at MSU Denver
Faculty Recital
King Center Concert Hall
2:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Thursday, February 13
Faculty Recital
Alexander George, horn
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $10, $8, $5

Sunday, February 16
Visiting Artist Series
Colorado Wind Ensemble
Featuring Mark Harris, saxophone
King Center Concert Hall
4:00 pm, Tickets $10, $8, $5

Monday, February 17
Mondays at MSU Denver
Student Recital
King Center Concert Hall
2:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Wednesday, February 19
Singing is Serious Business Series
Cynthia Vaughn Lecture and Clinic
Arts 293
2:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Thursday, February 20
Symphonic Band II & Wind Ensemble
King Center Concert Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $10, $8, $5

Saturday, February 22
Senior Recital
Natalie Thompson, mezzo soprano
King Center Recital Hall
4:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Sunday, February 23
Faculty Recital
Judith Christin, mezzo soprano
Michelle Thompson, soprano
Gregory Dufford, clarinet
Tamara Goldstein, piano
King Center Recital Hall
4:00 pm, Tickets $10, $8, $5

Monday, February 24
Mondays at MSU Denver
Student Recital
King Center Concert Hall
2:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Thursday, February 27
Faculty Recital
Alex Komodore, guitar
Phillip Stevens, viola
King Center Concert Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $10, $8, $5

February 27-March 1
"Urinetown"
Eugenia Rawls Courtyard Theatre
7:30 pm, Tickets $20, $15

 

Return to top


March

Monday, March 3
Mondays at MSU Denver
Student Recital
King Center Concert Hall
2:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Tuesday, March 4
Una Bella Sera: An Evening of Italian Song
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $10, $8, $5

Tuesday, March 4
Symphonic Band I & Concert Band
King Center Concert Hall
7:30 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Wednesday, March 5
Senior Recital
Larry Folz, saxophone
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Free and Open to the Public

March 6-8, 9*
"Urinetown"
Eugenia Rawls Courtyard Theatre
7:30 pm & *2:30 pm, Tickets $20, $15

Saturday, March 8
Senior Recital
Brittany Chard, soprano
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Sunday, March 9
Visiting Artist Series
Brielle Frost, flute
Thais Nicolau, piano
King Center Recital Hall
4:00 pm, Tickets $10, $8, $5

Monday, March 10
Mondays at MSU Denver
Student Recital
King Center Concert Hall
2:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Monday, March 10
Jazz Combos
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $5

Tuesday, March 11
Jazz Combos
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $5

Wednesday, March 12
Visiting Artist Masterclass
Rebecca Wilt, collaborative piano
King Center Recital Hall
2:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Wednesday, March 12
Jazz Orchestras
King Center Concert Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $5

Friday, March 14
Faculty Recital
Michael Hengst, trumpet
Guest Rebecca Wilt, piano
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $10, $8, $5

Saturday, March 15
Spring Choral Concert
Women's Choir, Men's Choir, Women's Chamber Choir
King Center Concert Hall
4:00 pm, Tickets $10, $8, $5

Saturday, March 15
Spring Choral Concert
Chorale, St. Martin's Chamber Choir, Denver Pro Chorale
King Center Concert Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $10, $8, $5

Sunday, March 16
Symphony Orchestra and
Guests Boulder Symphony Orchestra
The Planets, Holst
King Center Concert Hall
4:00 pm, Tickets $10, $8, $5

Monday, March 17
Mondays at MSU Denver
Student Recital
King Center Concert Hall
2:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Wednesday, March 19
Singing is Serious Business Series
Dorothy Byrne Masterclass
King Center Music and Dance Studio
2:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Wednesday, March 19
Visiting Artist Masterclass
Walter Barr, trumpet
Arts 295
3:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Wednesday, March 19
Singing is Serious Business Series
Dorothy Byrne Lecture and Concert
King Center Recital Hall
6:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Wednesday, March 19
String Sinfonietta
King Center Concert Hall
7:30 pm, Free and Open to the Public

March 21-22
College Music Society 2014 Conference
King Center, 9:00 am - 9:00 pm
For information, contact Joice Gibson (gibsonj@msudenver.edu)

Monday, March 31
Mondays at MSU Denver
Career Forum
King Center Concert Hall
2:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

 

Return to top


April

Friday, April 4
Opera Theatre Ensemble
Opera Scenes
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $10, $8, $5

Saturday, April 5
Opera Theatre Ensemble
Opera Scenes
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $10, $8, $5

Saturday, April 5
Visiting Artist Series
Boulder Brass Ensemble
King Center Concert Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $10, $8, $5

Sunday, April 6
Visiting Artist Series
Hudson Connection Piano Duo
King Center Concert Hall
4:00 pm, Tickets $10, $8, $5

Monday, April 7
Mondays at MSU Denver
Student Recital
King Center Concert Hall
2:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Monday, April 7
Vocal Jazz Ensemble "Sol Phase"
D Note, 7519 Grandview Ave., Arvada
7:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Friday, April 11
Jazz Celebration
Featuring Jose Madera
King Center Concert Hall, 8:00 am - 6:00 pm
1:00 pm Concert with MSU Denver Big Band and Jose Madera
Free and Open to the Public
For information, contact Ron Miles (milesr@msudenver.edu)

Friday, April 11
Visiting Artist Series
Thad Anderson, percussion
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $10, $8, $5

Friday, April 11
Denver Pro Chorale
Conducted by Michael J. Kornelsen
Church of the Ascencion, 600 Gilpin St, Denver
7:30 pm, Tickets $12, $10, $8
Information: 303-388-5978

Saturday, April 12
Senior Recital
Gi-yeon Huh, piano
King Center Recital Hall
4:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Saturday, April 12
MSU Denver Gamelan Manik Kusuma
With special guests University of Wyoming Gamelan Candra Wyoga
Directed by I Made Lasmawan
King Center Concert Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $5

Sunday, April 13
Senior Composition Recital
Jacob Paschall
King Center Recital Hall
4:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Monday, April 14
Mondays at MSU Denver
Student Recital
King Center Concert Hall
2:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Tuesday, April 15
Junior Recital
Julia Sando-Hilton, piano
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Wednesday, April 16
Singing is Serious Business Series
John Baril, conductor
King Center Concert Hall
2:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Wednesday, April 16
Faculty Recital
Metropolitan Woodwind Consort
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $10, $8, $5

Friday, April 18
Junior Recital
Amanda Marquez, soprano
King Center Recital Hall
4:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Saturday, April 19
Senior Recital
Allison Greenbaum, percussion
King Center Recital Hall
4:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Saturday, April 19
Senior Recital
Jacob Schott, trumpet
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Monday, April 21
Mondays at MSU Denver
Student Recital
King Center Concert Hall
2:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Monday, April 21
Chamber Music Ensembles
King Center Concert Hall
7:30 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Friday, April 25
Wind Band Celebration
King Center, 8:00 am - 6:00 pm
For information, contact David Kish (dkish@msudenver.edu)

Friday, April 25
Wind Ensemble
King Center Concert Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $10, $8, $5

Saturday, April 26
Visiting Artist Series
Denver Early Music Consort
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $15, $10

Saturday, April 26
Colorado Composers Concert 8
King Center Concert Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $10, $8, $5

Sunday, April 27
Chamber Music Ensembles
King Center Recital Hall
4:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Sunday, April 27
Senior Recital
Kari Clifton, cello
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Monday, April 28
Mondays at MSU Denver
Student Recital
King Center Concert Hall
2:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Monday, April 28
Jazz Combos
Dazzle Lounge and Restaurant, 930 Lincoln St, Denver
6:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Monday, April 28
Early Music Ensemble
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $5

Wednesday, April 30
Visiting Artist Masterclass
Ed Bach, trumpet
King Center Recital Hall
2:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Wednesday, April 30
Faculty Presentation
Justin Adams, jazz piano
Arts 295
3:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Wednesday, April 30
Jazz Orchestras
King Center Concert Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $5

 

Return to top


May

Thursday, May 1
Vocal Jazz Ensemble
King Center Concert Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $5

Friday, May 2
Senior Recital
Nicholas Valdez, guitar
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Saturday, May 3
Festival Choir and Symphony Orchestra
King Center Concert Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $10, $8, $5

Sunday, May 4
Festival Choir and Symphony Orchestra
King Center Concert Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $10, $8, $5

Monday, May 5
Mondays at MSU Denver
Student Recital
King Center Concert Hall
2:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Monday, May 5
Percussion Ensemble
King Center Concert Hall
7:30 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Monday, May 5
Chamber Music Ensembles
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Tuesday, May 6
Symphonic Bands & Concert Band
King Center Concert Hall
7:30 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Wednesday, May 7
Faculty Recital
Larry Worster and Friends
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Thursday, May 8
Guitar Ensembles
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Tickets $5

Friday, May 9
Junior Recital
Solomon Chapman, piano
King Center Recital Hall
4:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Friday, May 9
Senior Recital
Sarah Sanborn, soprano
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Saturday, May 10
Senior Recital
Hojun Sohn, piano
King Center Recital Hall
4:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Saturday, May 10
Senior Recital
Tyler Van Dam, trumpet
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Sunday, May 11
Chamber Music Ensembles
King Center Concert Hall
4:00 pm, Free and Open to the Public

Sunday, May 11
Senior Recital
Sonnie Doty, soprano
King Center Recital Hall
7:30 pm, Free and Open to the Public

 

Return to top


August 2014

Saturday, August 2
Audition Day
King Center, 8 am – 5 pm
For information, call 303-556-3180